25
Aug
08

katherine keeps it real.

Phew! I must admit I am exhausted! Today we worked on the infamous longest scene, V, 2. It went smoother than I thought it would go.

Last night I had another one of those sleepless nights when I just couldn’t stop thinking about a moment in the play. It is at the top of V, 2 when I talk about my sister that died for love. It is just such a strange moment because I switch from talking about my sister to engaging in some witty banter within a breath. But as I was tossing and turning last night, it hit me. I say the first line, about love deserving to be hung, and then Rosaline mentions my sister and how she died. I think that next line I have, “He made her melancholy, sad, and heavy and so she died” is a remembrance of my sister, but more actively, it is a thank you to my girls for remembering her. This allows me to bring it to them, and also to be able to leap from that into one of Katherine’s favorite activities, playing with words.

After we ran that section, Jennifer noticed that this line really fits into the character that Katherine has become. We have really discovered her, as a full person in this process, to return to this line now and see how perfectly it justifies our character choices, that’s kind of a magic moment. 

We also went through and staged the very end of the play. It is such an intense moment. We go from a mostly light-hearted play, as far as the royals are concerned, to a moment that is full of high stakes and unexpected turns. It was great to go through this and experience that change. The end of the play is what makes this play a great play.

0 Responses to “katherine keeps it real.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

