22
Apr
08

“Rarry Rarry Rar” means I love you

Howdy, folks.  This will be my last Milwaukee Shakespeare blog entry for Cymbeline.  Thanks for reading, and thanks for attending or working on the show.  I’ve enjoyed reporting on events and sharing thoughts on the process of acting in and doing educational outreach for this production, and of course I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity of doing said activities with this wonderful company made up of fantastically inspiring staff and artists.  

It’s been a hugely exciting and rewarding two seasons in Milwaukee for me, and though I’d love to continue on into next season (what a lineup! subscribe now!), my life is headed into a new, glorious and long-awaited direction. As I hinted last entry, Sunday’s show may very well have been my last performance on American soil.  I will be on a plane to London come Monday for a two-week preliminary visit, and if all visa hoops are jumped through, moving permanently to the UK by the end of the summer. I will come back and visit for sure, but who’s to say what’s going to happen professionally.  

So.  Knowing this, I lustily tore my disintegrating brown tights off my legs in three pieces after completing my final scene as Lord #2 on Sunday, and proudly tacked them up on display on the call board outside the men’s dressing room. Gross.  The rest of the show I was decidedly amped-up but also more focused than I’d been all week, and went out with one of my favorite shows of the run.

On Saturday night, I went up into the booth during the second half of the show to watch the “Cloten Goes to Milford Haven” sequence one last time.  It’s my favorite part of the show, the showstopping section featuring Joe Foust and Jonathan Smoots as Pisanio that I wrote about in the entry called “Rad” during rehearsals that first assured me that this was gonna be a very good show.  Since then, it’s gotten wackier and more intricate as Joe and Jonathan tirelessly refined it with an audience.  And it contains my absolute favorite utterance of our production, and forgive me purists, it’s one Shakespeare didn’t write: “Rarry rarry rar.” (I’m paraphrasing, of course.) We see Cloten the ridiculous spoiled prince given a new toy, the bear cloak of Posthumus, and take perverse delight in it and how he will use it to win Imogen.  Jonathan’s feigned trembling at the fearsomeness of the plushy cape would always drive me over the edge into hysterics, the two working their insane guy/straight man routine to perfection.

So yeah.  Just wanted to shout that out.  No big metaphor about why Cloten pretending to be a bear is like how as actors, we cloak ourselves in things that are sometimes furry and make funny voices so that people might come to a greater understanding of the nature of bears.  Not this time.  I’ve rambled and pretended to have big ol’ important ideas on this thing, in the theatre, and in the classroom enough these past  2 1/2 months.  It’s time to pack up and move on with a smile and a satisfied mind.  I hope everyone connected with this production remembers it fondly, if even just for one line that made you laugh, and that you dear reader, continue to check out what Milwaukee Shakespeare has to offer.

And with that, I’m peacing out.

 

 

eg

 

 

0 Responses to ““Rarry Rarry Rar” means I love you”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

