10
Jan
08

#26: Look Out, Clown with a Sword, Coming Through

Dear Friends,

I’m rehearsing Act Four, Scene 1 this afternoon… my combat scene.  Andrew Aguecheek and Sir Toby surprise me and challenge me to a dual, mistaking me for Viola.  There’s no full-blown fight, but there is a little skirmish (with rapiers and daggers) that we’ve choreographed (carefully), but this afternoon will mark the first time we’ve run it within the context of the scene.  We’ll see how it goes.

I’m looking forward to being in a swordfight!  As a comic actor, I’m usually the guy getting hit with a stick, not slashing at people with daggers.  I’m really grateful to Paula for giving me the opportunity to play a role outside my “type.”  Professionally, actors frequently get targeted for the character that comes easily to them, or that they look like, or that they play especially well.  This is perfectly understandable, of course, but it sometimes stands at odds with an actor’s interest in performing for the purposes of transformation.  In my case, I usually play clowns, which is really fun, but playing similar roles all the time makes you like the guy at the gym who does nothing bicep curls, so he’s got big arms but no butt and legs like green beans.  You want to work all the muscles to stay in shape.

That said, I should go practice my moves, so I don’t get stabbed in my little bean legs.

I’ll keep you posted,

Bean Legs

0 Responses to “#26: Look Out, Clown with a Sword, Coming Through”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

