29
Dec
07

Twelfth Night, First Post: An Apology

Dear Friends,

Bill Shakespeare was a humble guy.

In the dedication of his narrative poem, Venus and Adonis, he writes:

“Right Honorable, I know not how I shall offend in dedicating my unpolished lines to your lordship, nor how the world will censure me for choosing so strong a prop to support so weak a burden…”

In the epilogues to his plays (there were nine of them in total), he frequently has the actor ask the audience to forgive his playwriting.  Some examples:

Puck (A Midsummer Night’s Dream):

Gentles, do not reprehend/ If you pardon, we will mend/And, as I am an honest Puck, /If we have unearned luck/ Now to ‘scape the serpent’s tongue, /We will make amends ere long…

Prospero (The Tempest):

Gentle breath of yours my sails/ Must fill, or else my project fails,/ Which was to please…

Rosalind (As You Like It):

If it be true that good wine needs no bush, ’tis true that a good play needs no epilogue; yet to good wine they do use good bushes, and good plays prove the better by the help of good epilogues.  What a case am I in then, that am neither a good epilogue nor cannot insinuate with you in the behalf of a good play!

Chorus (Henry V):

Thus far, with rough and all-unable pen,/ Our bending author hath pursued the story,/ In little room confining mighty men,/ Mangling by starts the full course of their glory.

And so on.

So, in the spirit of Bill, I too would like to offer an apologetic dedication:

Right Honorable Milwaukee Shakespeare Blog Audience, who astonishingly takes time to read about a theatre production despite an abundance of hi-tech temptation (cable TV, Nintendo Wii, IMAX, robots), please accept this meager excuse for a blog (from a behind-the-times guy who doesn’t even own an iPod, much less know what “blog” means, exactly) and forgive my complete lack of knowledge of the finer points of “blogging.”  I will happily record the progress of what promises to be a wonderful production of Shakespeare’s comic tale of twins and love triangles, throw in lots of juicy gossip about this great little theatre company, and add a dash of life-as-a-stage-actor-in-the-Midwest-in-2008.   But if there’s more to blog culture than that, you, my tech-saavy audience, must pardon me: the only compu-speak I’m aware of is “LOL” and “:)” and I’m fairly certain those are both out of vogue.  (Even my username, “chicago1227,” is boring.  “Chicago” is my hometown and “1227” is my birthday.  How unoriginal is that?)  So, to quote Bill (again from his dedication of V&A): “if your honor seem but pleased, I account myself highly praised, and vow to take advantage of all idle hours till I have honoured you with some graver labour.  But if the first heir of my invention prove deformed, I shall be sorry it had so noble a godfather…” 

Thanks for joining us on our January journey.  Read on!

 Your newest blogger,

Kevin Rich

1 Response to “Twelfth Night, First Post: An Apology”


  1. 1 hsm24
    January 9, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Happy Birthday, from a fellow Tech-No. I am certain that you will find your blogging voice quickly!


Leave a Reply

